If it’s not obvious to you why you should be sharing your calendar at work, then perhaps you’re not busy enough. Missing appointments, forgetting phone calls, and failing to meet deadlines not only make you look unprofessional, they can bring down your whole organisation, too.
Share Your Calendar for Better Efficiency
In the new era of workplace collaboration, sharing, communication, and openness, sharing your calendar is just one way to improve efficiency. Time management with a calendar tool like the one in Office 365 helps you stay organized and productive.
Sharing your time management tool — your calendar — helps you even more.
By allowing others to view your calendar, edit your calendar, or even respond to or initiate meeting requests, you’re opening up the possibility of even greater productivity than you enjoy at the moment. So, if you’re the sort of person who needs to share their calendar, then here’s how to do it in Office 365.
How to Share Your Office 365 Calendar
First, it’s important to understand that there are varying levels of sharing that can take place on your Office 365 Calendar. Depending on what you need in order to optimize your efficiency, choose the degrees of sharing that suit you.
They are, in order of least to most viewing and capability:
- ‘Can view when I’m busy.’ This is the calendar equivalent of the status indicator on chatting platforms like Skype or Slack. Basically all you’re revealing is whether you are available or busy during a certain time frame. People to whom you grant this level of access cannot see where you’ll be or what you’ll be doing at a given time — merely that you’re booked up.
- ‘Can view titles and locations.’ Grant this level of access if you are comfortable revealing where you’ll be during your days. It also divulges what you’ll be doing. Whether it’s a meeting, a conference, or some ‘door-shut’ time to concentrate on a project, your activity will be revealed to people with this level of access if those details are included in the titles of your calendar events.
- ‘Can view all details.’ Now you’re allowing access to all the details of your calendar. If you added notes, reminders, or other details… they’ll be visible.
- ‘Can edit.’ This level of access is available only to people who are part of your organisation This is a useful feature for keeping everyone up-to-date on events as well as changes in those events. It’s also useful for scheduling mandatory meetings so managers will want at least this level of access to their team’s calendars.
- ‘Delegate’. If you’re a boss, then you’ll want to grant your assistant the ‘Delegate’ level of access. That way, he or she can respond to meeting requests on your behalf. They can also send meeting requests on your behalf, so scheduling that team meeting suddenly becomes a whole lot easier. Like the ‘Can edit’ status, this level of access is only available to people who are part of your organisation.
Some Final Thoughts
Understanding these levels of access is really all you need to know. The rest is intuitive — sending a sharing invitation for your calendar is much like sending an invitation in Google docs.
Click ‘Send a sharing invitation in email’ and begin typing the email address of the person with whom you want to share your calendar. Then choose one of the five levels above. Finally, click ‘Share’ and you’re on your way to greater productivity and increased efficiency.